Milton Keynes Festival Fringe focuses on a biennial event which complements the Milton Keynes International Festival

The Festival Fringe showcases street arts, performance, outdoor theatre, visual arts, music, comedy and dance — often staging these in unusual spaces that aren’t always associated with the arts

The Fringe collaborates with organisations & partners across the region to develop a joined-up and fully representative programme which includes some commissioning, as well as open entry opportunities for local and regional artists.

We have a respected programme and offer an “original fringe experience” to visitors. The artists are central to our work and we continue to nurture & support emerging artists, encouraging new and experimental work, by developing opportunities, spaces and places for artists to create and present work within MK.

Since its formation in 2012 we have begun to build a real dedicated 'fringe' following and audience numbers are increasing year on year. The organisation is also working hard to minimise its environmental impact and, as such, has already received the ‘Greener Festival Award 2012’.

MK Festival Fringe has a dedicated and committed team. We recruit over 30 volunteers, programming over 30 events and staging up to 50 artists. Plus, 80% of our budget is used for artistic expenditure i.e. artist fees and staging costs and only 20% is spent on admin, management and overheads. In 2016 the Festival ran from 13th to 23rd July and we welcomed more fans to our Fringekin friends scheme, helping support the good work we do.

For the last three festivals Milton Keynes Festival Fringe has been funded through Arts Council England, MK Council, MK Community Foundation and other grants and donations.

For the 2016 Fringe, we would like to say a huge thank you to our generous sponsors - The Eranda Rothschild Foundation, Milton Keynes Community Foundation and Milton Keynes Council.

The Board

MK Festival Fringe is a not for profit Community Interest Company
with a Board of Directors and also an Advisory Board which meets about four times a year.

Artistic Director Simon Wright
Chair Emma Brookes
Treasurer Kate Aspinall
Board Members Jessica Rost Helen Parlour
Administrator Martine Frost
Advisory Board Hilarie Bowman Lallie Davies